The German Federal President Joachim Gauck honoured the Hamburg anesthesiologist and intensive care specialist Dr. Matthias Angrés with the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany for his longstanding humanitarian commitment in the medical care of children inregions of poverty, crisis and war. The RobinAid Foundation, founded by Dr. Matthias Angrés, is committed, within the international medical network of Chaîne de l’Espoir Europe, to set up paediatric critical care in poor and underserved countries.

Currently RobinAid is active in Afghanistan, Egypt, Senegal, Syria, Jordan, Romania and Cameroon.

The award was handed over on February 12th, 2017 during a state reception at the City Hall of Hamburg by the Senator for Health Affairs, Cornelia Prücker-Storcks.

“Dr. Angrés has been campaigning for serious ill children from poor countries since so many years. With his RobinAid Foundation he helps especially children and adolescents suffering from congenital and acquired heart defects who are in urgent need of medical assistance. His exemplary commitment deserves respect and recognition,” Hamburg’s Senator of Health Affairs Cornelia Prüfer-Storcks said in her laudation.


Among the invited guests a number of friends, supporters and international colleagues of Dr. Angrés, as well as the ambassador of the Foundation, the actor Hinnerk Schönemann, were present (Hinnerk Schönemann in picture left, right Herr Carsten Leverenz, CFO RobinAid).

In his acceptance speech, Dr. Angrés emphasized that he devotes this award to his team, the entire RobinAid Foundation and all the local colleagues that are collaborating in different countries. He said: “I have the privilege of working with magnificent people and being supported by a huge number of splendid colleagues. Without them, our achievementsit would not have been possible to do what we did together in recent years. Therefore, my heartfelt thanks are going to my great team, to all my friends and colleagues from our international partners, but also to the German President and the Hamburg Senate, who are honouring our common work with this prestigious award.”